9 centres for All India JEE(Main) in Odisha

Share on Myspace

Pratap DebThere will be nine centers for All India JEE in Odisha. They will be Balasore, Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Rourkela, Berahampur, Sambalpur, Bhawanipatna, Angul and Jeypore, says thetechnical Education And Training Minister Pratap Keshari Deb today..  The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) has finally declared these names, he hints.

The Govt has requested 10 places to be declared as centers for 2014-15 AI JEE, but CBSE left the name of Bhadrak in its list, said the minister. But he will again write the CBSE to include this city to help the aspirants of this area.

Earlier CBSE was holding its Entrance exam for admission to Engineering degree colleges under its purview in only 6 centers. As the state along with Maharastra and Gujarat decided to participate only in All India Joint entrance scheme like some  other states and closed conducting its own pattern of JEE. For this smooth conduct the state has wrote the CBSE to increase the number of exam centres to 12 for conducting the  JEE Main exam on April 6, 2014 for engineering admission .

The selection of students for admission to engineering courses in the institutes in Odisha will be done through JEE (Mains) 2014 only.  Gujarat, Maharashtra and Odisha have joined the Joint Entrance Examination (Main) system that was introduced from this year for admission to premier technical institutes in the country.     The JEE-Main, conducted by Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), is a selection test for the National Institutes of Technology (NIT) and the Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIIT). It is also the first filter for the Indian Institutes of Technology — the top 1.5 lakh students are allowed to take the JEE-Advanced test for admission into the IITs.

Share on Myspace